Book Review – The Legacy

leg

Title- The Legacy
Author- Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
Published- March 23rd 2017
Genre- Thriller/Crime
Length- 464 pages
Rating- 4.5/5

Synopsis (Goodreads)-  The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method?

The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.

Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.

It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Review- I received an ARC of this from the publisher so thank you to them.

This was originally written in Icelandic and has been translated into English. The translation is perfect, at least in that it makes perfect sense, I haven’t seen an Icelandic copy and wouldn’t be able to read it if I had! The names are Icelandic but there is a pronunciation guide at the start of the book, I mostly just ignored it and pronounced things how I wanted to in my head which I imagine a lot of people do, but it is nice to have the guide.

Overall the writing is good, consistent, and not overly complicated just for the sake of it. It was a pleasant read from that point of view.

In terms of the story, this is what most people would refer to as a “slow burn”. That’s not really my thing which is the reason I didn’t give this 5/5.

The prologue is set in the past, with the remainder of the book being in the present. The mystery left by the prologue really does leave you wanting more.Throughout the book more and more issues/mysteries are added which really helped to build up the tension even more.

The story was nicely detailed and issues were well explained. The characters were all interesting, and well developed. I spent a lot of time wondering who those mentioned in the prologue were in the rest of the story and had suspicions but I definitely didn’t get them all. The ending was fantastic, I didn’t see it coming and I usually do figure things out pretty early on with this sort of book, so that was a nice change. The only thing I didn’t really like was some of the personal relationship discussion, it wasn’t really needed for the story. Some people enjoy the addition of that sort of thing though, it is just a personal preference.

Normally my reviews have a lot of negatives, even with books I really like I seem to find lots of little issues, but with this there isn’t really anything to complain about. It is a really good book.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone that enjoys reading thrillers/crime.

One thought on “Book Review – The Legacy

Leave a Reply

