Not (exactly) a book review! The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

25786523Title- The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
Author- Becky Chambers
Published-  2015
Genre- sci-fi
Length- 519 pages
Rating- DNF
Synopsis (Amazon)- When Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn’t expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that’s seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.

But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptillian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful – exactly what Rosemary wants.

Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They’ll earn enough money to live comfortably for years… if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful.

But Rosemary isn’t the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.

Not (exactly) a review- So, I am giving up and DNF-ing this book! It gets a lot of hype on BookTube and I am struggling to see why? I got about 100 pages in and it was just boring, so I kept putting off reading it. If I have lots of things I want to do then a bad book is not going to win, so not only do I not read that book, I don’t read at all which I don’t like. I even tried reading another book and going back to this but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

As I didn’t finish it I’m not going to do a full review, but I will give a few comments….

I have no major comments on the writing. At least one person on BookTube said this was quick to get through because the chapters are short. They are not short! Unless you count 20+ pages as short? There is the odd short one but in general they are quite long.

Everyone says this is character rather than plot driven and of the part I read that is very true. I normally quite like that sort of thing but here it just wasn’t working for me. Every character in this book seems to be of a different species, yes there are descriptions when they are each first introduced but when there are so many it is difficult to keep things straight. In the 100 pages I read, none of them are well developed.

I’m sure there are some interesting things in the remainder of the book, and if it was 200 pages I probably would have finished it but it’s not, it’s 500+ pages. I have so many other books I want to read so I’m just not willing to give up more time to a book that I am not enjoying right now, I have done it too many times before and they never got better so it was just a waste.

5 thoughts on “Not (exactly) a book review! The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

  1. I actually really liked this boom when I read it. But I think you’re complete right. The first half of the book is slow going and boring. You may have liked it when you carried on. You may not, but life is too short and there are too many books out there to “struggle” through reading! Although this book to me was great, I actually appreciate this type of post so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

