Book Review- The Book of You

24516182

Title- The Book of You
Author- Claire Kendal
Published-  2014
Genre- Thriller/crime
Length- 385 pages
Rating- 3.25/5
Synopsis (Goodreads)- A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.

Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.

Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them – and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

Review- For a thriller this is nothing special.

The narrative switches between a weird version of second person, and third person, it takes a bit of getting used to and I think a different style would have made the book better. The characters are all quite well written, they seem very believable, no one does anything where you think, “no real person would ever do that” which actually happens quite a lot in books.

The story starts off pretty well, we are given a good amount of background, and information about what is currently going on. After about 40% of the book though it starts to drag, very little happens, or at least very few new things happen. It could be argued that with stalkers there is a lot of repetitive behaviour and that is the reason, but it makes it a bit dull to read.

The story never really picks back up. The “climax” is boring, nothing unexpected or particularly exciting, the same goes for the very end. It was disappointing.

If you don’t have another book to hand then fine, give this a go, but there are much better thrillers out there.

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review- The Book of You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s